Connect with us

Headlines News

Yobe North: Lawan insists he won’t appeal court judgment



Senate President Ahmad Lawan has passed sexual harassment criminal code Ibrahim El-Ladan appointed Clerk Service Chiefs Nigerian Army University bill nddc pib fha girl child chukwu #endsars nerc Consumer Protection Electoral Act aviation Finance Bill 2020 NDDC PIB Drug Barons Customs Anti-Corruption 1999 Constitution HND BSC firearms maritime MTEF Cargo MDAs Aiteo fuel subsidy Duplicated Projects Constitution Review 2022 Budget Judiciary Employment

Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, has insisted he will not appeal the court judgment on the APC senatorial candidature for Yobe North Senatorial District.

Chronicle NG reported that a Yobe High Court has ruled that Bashir Machina is the rightful candidate of the APC and not Lawan as claimed by the party’s national chairman, Abdullahi Adamu.

“We have seen a report circulating online by the Sahara Reporters with regards to the APC candidature for the 2023 senatorial election in Yobe North,” Lawan said in a statement on Saturday.

“The report claims that the Senate President, Ahmad Lawan, made a u-turn on his earlier decision not to appeal the judgement of the Federal High Court, Damaturu in Yobe State which voided his candidature for the election.


“The report is utter falsehood. It is just another fabrication by the discredited habitual purveyor of fake and malicious news – Sahara Reporters.

“For the umpteenth time, we want to emphasize that the Senate President has no intention to appeal against the court judgement.

“If anybody is dissatisfied and decides to challenge the verdict of the court, it has nothing to do with the Senate President.

“The Senate President has made his own position public and has since moved on. He is a man of his words.

“We therefore urge reasonable members of the public to accord the fake Sahara Reporters’ report nothing other than the contempt it deserves.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG