Connect with us

Headlines News

11 new Supreme Court justices to be sworn in next week



The Supreme Court will have all 21 justices present when they take their oaths

Eleven new justices are set to be sworn into the Supreme Court of Nigeria next week, bringing the court to its full complement of 21 justices for the first time in its history.

The appointments were approved by the Senate in December 2023, at the request of President Bola Tinubu.

Chronicle NG reports that the new justices cut across the six geopolitical regions of Nigeria, and their appointments are seen as an effort to improve the diversity of the court.

The Justices billed for swearing-in are:

Hon. Justice Jummai Hannatu Sankey, OFR- North Central.


Hon. Justice Stephen Jonah Adah -North Central.

Hon. Justice Mohammed Baba Idris -North Central.

Hon. Justice Haruna Simon Tsammani -North East.

Hon. Justice Jamilu Yammama Tukur- North West.


Hon. Justice Abubakar Sadiq Umar -North West.

Hon. Justice Chidiebere Nwaoma Uwa – South East.

Hon. Justice Chioma Egondu Nwosu-Iheme – South East.

Hon. Justice Obande Festus Ogbuinya -South East.


Hon. Justice Moore Aseimo A. Adumein – South South.

Hon. Justice Habeeb Adewale O. Abiru- South West.

The Supreme Court will have all 21 justices present when they take their oaths, as the Constitution intended.

The swearing-in ceremony is expected to take place on January 16th.

The appointments of the new justices have been welcomed by many Nigerians, who see them as a sign of the government’s commitment to the rule of law.


However, some critics have expressed concerns that the appointments were politically motivated.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading