Connect with us


#CAFAwards2023: Oshoala wins record sixth Women’s Player of the Year



Oshoala wins record sixth CAF Women of the Year award

Super Falcons striker Azizat Oshoala has been crowned the 2023 African Women Footballer of the Year.

Oshoala, a five-time CAF women’s award winner, competed for a record sixth title against Zambia’s Barbra Banda and South Africa’s Thembi Kgatlana.

The prolific goalscorer, secured the 20th spot in the 2023 Ballon d’Or rankings due to her outstanding performances with Barcelona, where she led Barcelona to win the UEFA Women’s Champions League while also leading the Catalans to a league title as they went undefeated all season.

Despite being sidelined because of injuries, the five-time African Women’s Footballer of the Year had a remarkable individual season.

She netted 21 goals in the league and added five in the Champions League.


Oshoala was also a pivotal part of the Nigerian squad that competed in the FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand, gaining global recognition for their impressive showing at the tournament.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading