Connect with us


AFCON: Peseiro names 25-man Super Eagles squad



'God no go shame us', Odukoya prays for Super Eagles victory

Super Eagles coach Jose Peseiro has released his 25-man list for the delayed 2023 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON), with captain Ahmed Musa making the cut while Enyimba’s Olorunleke Ojo is the only home-based player.

The African football showpiece (AFCON) will run from January 13 to February 11, 2024.

The Nigerian side, gunning for its fourth title, has been drawn in Group A alongside hosts Ivory Coast, Equatorial Guinea, and Guinea-Bissau.

CAF names Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania AFCON 2027 joint host

AFCON trophy

The Portuguese manager had earlier in December unveiled a 40-man provisional squad, including three goal-keepers from the local league.

However, in the final cut, Peseiro on Friday named African Footballer of the Year, Victor Osimhen, captain Ahmed Musa, and Chippa United goalkeeper, Stanley Nwabili.

Nwabili, drafted in to solve the team’s goalkeeping crisis, is joined by long-standing first-choice Francis Uzoho and Enyimba FC goal-stopper Leke Ojo, who is the only home-based player in the squad.


Goalkeepers: Stanley Nwabili (Chippa United, South Africa); Francis Uzoho (Omonia FC, Cyprus); Olorunleke Ojo (Enyimba FC).

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Nottingham Forest, England); Chidozie Awaziem (Boavista FC, Portugal); Bright Osayi-Samuel (Fenerbahce FC, Turkey); William Troost-Ekong (PAOK Salonika, Greece); Bruno Onyemaechi (Boavista FC, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (Kasimpasa FC, Turkey); Oluwasemilogo Ajayi (West Bromwich Albion, England); Calvin Bassey (Fulham FC, England); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal)

Midfielders: Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Raphael Onyedika (Club Brugge, Belgium); Joe Ayodele-Aribo (Southampton FC, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Alex Iwobi (Fulham FC, England).

Ahmed Musa scored twice as Nigeria beat Iceland 2-0 in Volgograd

Ahmed Musa 2013 AFCON winner

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Sivasspor K, Turkey); Victor Osimhen (Napoli SC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Sadiq Umar (Real Sociedad, Spain); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Ademola Lookman (Atalanta FC, Italy); Samuel Chukwueze (AC Milan, Italy); Victor Boniface (Bayer Leverkusen, Germany).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading