Connect with us

Headlines News

Full List: Senate reshuffles committee chairmen, deputy



Committee to explore the modalities for the establishment of state police

The Nigerian Senate, under the leadership of Senate President Godswill Akpabio, has announced the reshuffling of committee chairmen and vice chairmen.

Senator Jimoh Ibrahim (All Progressives Congress, Ondo State) has been named Senate Committee Chairman on Inter-Parliamentary Affairs by Senate President Godswill Akpabio.

Senator Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan (Peoples Democratic Party, Kogi State) has also been appointed as the Chairperson of the Senate Committee on Local Content.

He made the news during plenary on Tuesday when reshuffling the legislative cabinet.

Akpabio disclosed the new structure immediately after the Senate minority leader was appointed.


The standing committees reshuffling is coming  three months after their first formation.

In August, Akpabio revealed the composition and leadership of the upper chamber’s standing committees, which totaled 72 panels.

The Senate President also appointed new vice chairs.

The full list includes:


1. Steel: Patrick Udubueze (Chairman); Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan (Vice-Chairman).

2. Tourism: Shuaibu Isa Lau (Chairman); Ireti Kingibe (Vice-Chairman).

3. Inter-Parliamentary Affairs: Jimoh Ibrahim (Chairman)

4. State and Local Government Affairs: Binos Yaroe (Chairman), Francis Fadahunsi (Vice Chairman)


5. National Atomic and Nuclear Energy: Sahabi Alhaji Yau (Chairman); Mustapha Khalid Ibrahim (Vice Chairman).

6. Youth and Community Engagement: Yemi Adaramodu (Chairman)

7. Sport Development: Kawu Sumaila (Chairman), Ned Nwoko (Vice Chairman)

8. Niger Delta Affairs: Babajide Ipinsagba (Chairman), Rev. Amos Kumai Yohanna (Vice Chairman).


9. Art, Culture, and Creative Economy: Onawo Ogoshi (Chairman), Okechukwu Ezea (Vice Chairman)

10. Defense: Joel Onowakpo (Vice Chairman)

11. Petroleum Downstream: Ifeanyi Ubah (Chairman), Babajide Ipinsagba (Vice Chairman).

12. Solid Minerals Development: Sampson Ekong (Chairman)


13. Niger Delta Amendment Development Commission—Osita Ngwu (Vice Chairman)

14. Establishment and Public Services: Sunday Marshall Katung (Vice Chairman)

15. Housing: Aminu Tambuwal (Chairman); Victor Umeh (Vice Chairman).

16. Army: Syrial Fasuyi (Vice Chairman)


17. Water Resources: Kenneth Eze (Vice Chairman)

18. Industries: Isa Shuiabu Lau (Vice Chairman)

19. National Planning and Economic Affairs (Vice Chairman): Colonel Owolo (retd.)

20. Navy: Nasir Zango Daura (Vice Chairman)


21. Social Welfare and Poverty Alleviation (Chairman): Idiat Oluranti Adebule

22. Public Affairs and Public Procurement (Vice Chairman) Haruna Amanu

23. Committee on Local Content: Natasha Akpoti-Uduaghan (Chairman)

24. FCT Area Councils: Jim Kuta (Chairman); Saliu Mustapha (Vice Chairman).


25. Sustainable Development Growth: Muhammed Goje (Chairman); Patrick Ndubueze (Vice Chairman)

26. Higher Institutions: Abba Moro (Vice Chairman)

27. Drugs and Narcotics: Umar Sodiq (Vice Chairman)

28. Works: Mpigi Barnada (Vice Chairman)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading