Connect with us

Headlines News

Appeal Court affirms Oborevwori as winner of Delta gubernatorial election



Tribunal affirms Oborevwori election as Delta governor, dismisses Omo-Agege's petition

In a unanimous judgment on Friday, the Court of Appeal sitting in Lagos upheld Governor Sheriff Oborevwori of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, as the victor of the Delta State election on March 18.

Senator Ovie Omo-Agege, the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in Delta State, filed an appeal with the appellate court. The court ruled that the appeal was without merit.

It will be recalled that on September 29, the Delta State Governorship Election Petition Tribunal in Asaba declared Oborevwori the victor of the March 18 governorship election.

Omo-Agege, on the other hand, filed an appeal with the appellate court, disputing the electoral petition tribunal’s decision. Omo-Agege, the immediate past Deputy President of the Senate, had asked in his appeal to be proclaimed the winner of the election.

However, Oborevwori requested the court dismiss the appeal, claiming it lacked merit.


The Court of Appeals affirmed Oborevwori’s election and dismissed Omo-Agege’s challenge as meritless in its decision on Friday.

The lower tribunal’s decision was also upheld by the appellate court.

In a separate decision, the tribunal dismissed Kenneth Gbaji’s appeal against the PDP, APC, and Labour Party, LP, and their governorship aspirants.

In the same vein, in a separate decision, the appellate court denied the appeal by the Labour Party, LP, and its governorship candidate, Ken Pela, disputing the lower tribunal’s decision upholding Oborevwori’s election.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading