Connect with us


Tinubu approves establishment of seven new tertiary institutions



'Emilokan is clueless', Nigerians blast Tinubu over economic hardship wages

President Bola Ahmed Tinubu has approved the establishment of four colleges of education to be converted to federal universities of education.

The president also approved two federal universities of agriculture, two federal universities of medical and health sciences, and five colleges of education.

This is contained in a statement by the Assistant Director, Press and Public Relations, Federal Ministry of Education, Obialor-Dur Augustina Okechi.

She said the approval was in line with the present administration’s commitment to ensure continuity in governance and policy consistency.

She said the approved institutions for which the establishment process would commence immediately include the Federal University of Medical and Health Sciences, Kwale, Delta State, and the Federal University of Agriculture, Mubi, Adamawa State.


Colleges of education converted to federal universities of education are Adeyemi College of Education, Ondo, Ondo State, and Alvan Ikoku Federal College of Education, Owerri, Imo State.

The newly approved colleges of education are the Federal College of Education, Ilawe Ekiti, Ekiti State; the Federal College of Education, Ididep, Ibiono, Akwa Ibom State; and the Federal College of Education (Technical), Yauri, Kebbi State.

“The establishment and conversion of these institutions is a further demonstration of President Tinubu’s Education for the Renewed Hope Agenda and will help in improving access to tertiary education in the country,” she said.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading