Connect with us


INEC to conduct mock accreditation in Bayelsa, Imo, Kogi October 14



Rerun Polls: INEC suspends voting in Kano, Enugu, Akwa-Ibom

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) will conduct a mock accreditation of voters in Bayelsa, Imo, and Kogi ahead of the governorship elections scheduled for November 11.

The mock accreditation scheduled for October 14 would be done using the Bimodal Voter Accreditation System (BVAS) and uploading polling unit results to the INEC Result Viewing Portal (IReV). Sam Olumekun, INEC commissioner of information and voter education, said this in a statement on Tuesday.

He said the decision was taken at the commission’s meeting held on Monday, where, among other issues, it reviewed the preparations for the forthcoming off-cycle governorship elections in the three states.

“As it was the case in recent off-cycle governorship elections, the commission will conduct a mock accreditation using the BVAS and upload polling unit results to the IReV,” he said.

“The test run will take place simultaneously in the three states on Saturday, October 14, from 8.30 a.m. to 2.30 p.m.


“A maximum of three polling units in each senatorial district have been identified across each of the three states, covering a total of nine senatorial districts and 27 polling units.

“Lessons learned from the exercise will be taken into consideration in ensuring a seamless process on election day,’’ Olumekun said.

He said that the full details of the polling units, including their locations by Local Government Area (LGA), Registration Area (RA)/Ward, Delimitation Code, and number of registered voters, have been uploaded to the INEC website and social media platforms.

The LGAs selected for the exercise in Bayelsa are: Brass, Nembe, Ogbia, Sagbama, Ekeremor, Yenagoa, Kolokuma/Opokuma, and Southern Ijaw.

Aboh Mbaise, Ngor Okpala, Owerri West, Ideato South, Ohaji Egbema, Nkwere, Ihitte/Uboma, Isiala Mbano, and Obowo LGAs of Imo


In Kogi, the exercise will be held in Lokoja, Kabba/Bunu, Yagba East, Adavi Ajaokuta, Okehi, Dekina, Idah, and Omala LGAs.

Olumekun appealed to registered voters in the selected polling units to turn up with their Permanent Voters’ Cards (PVCs) for the exercise.

“The general public is informed that the exercise is strictly a test of accreditation and not the actual election,” he added.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2024 ChronicleNG

Discover more from

Subscribe now to keep reading and get access to the full archive.

Continue reading