Connect with us

Headlines News

10th NASS: Senators, Reps-elect take oath of office



The Senate, National Assembly Complex

The long-awaited inauguration of the 10th National Assembly has arrived.

The event is set to take place on Tuesday, June 13, 2023, at 10:00 a.m.

According to a statement issued on Thursday by the Clerk of the National Assembly, Sani Tambawal.

On this day, 109 senators-elect and 359 members of the House of Representatives-elect will be sworn in.

According to media sources, just after the February 25 general elections, a Taraba State member-elect,


Isma’ila Maihanchi, who was elected to represent Jalingo, Yerro, and Zing Federal Constituencies, died, reducing the available number from 360 to 359.

Tambuwal further stated that the senators-elect and members-elect are to visit the Senate conference room 231 and the House of Representatives conference room 301, respectively, with copies of their code of conduct clearance, certificates of return, and valid identity cards for registration on Monday, June 12, at 10:00 a.m.

He also stated that only the senators-elect and the members-elect will be given access to the legislative chambers.

“Due to the ongoing renovation of the two chambers, senators-elect and honourable members-elect are to come along with only one guest for the ceremony, who will be seated at the arcade,” he said.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG