Connect with us

Cable TV

2023 AMVCA award winners emerge



AMVCA award winners emerge

The winners of the 2023 African Magic Viewers’ Choice Award (AMVCA) have been announced.

The event, which is sponsored and organized yearly by MultiChoice and African Magic, is an opportunity to recognize and celebrate African cinema and television talents for their outstanding achievements to the industry.

This year’s AMVCA, the 9th edition, included a three-day sequence of festivities beginning on Thursday, May 18, 2023, with the ‘Opening Night and Cultural Day,’ a day to celebrate African culture, followed by the ‘Runway Show and Nominee Gala,’ on May 19, and the ‘Award Night,’ on May 20.

The award night ceremony, which took place on Saturday, May 20, 2023, saw many African actors, actresses, and TV personalities who graced the occasion beautifully styled in their ensembles pick up awards in top categories.

The full list of winners at the AMVCA 2023 includes:


Best Sound Editor

Anu Afolayan, Anikulapo (Winner)

Best Lighting Designer

Mathew Yusuf, Brotherhood (Winner)


Best Cinematographer

Loukman Ali, Brotherhood (Winner)

Best Picture Editor

Holmes Awa and Daniel Tom, Crime and Justice (Winner)

Best Art Director


Wale Adeleke, King of Thieves (Agesinkole) (Winner)

The Best Costume Designer in a Movie or TV Series

Adeola Art-Alade: The Real Housewives of Lagos Reunion Episode (Winner)

Best Writer of a Drama, Comedy, Movie, or TV


Sola Dada-Anikulapo (Winner)

The best soundtrack in a movie or series

Kent Edunjobi, Anikulapo (Winner)

The Best Movie in Southern Africa


Elvis Chucks: Jewel (Winner)

Best Movie: East Africa

Click Click Bang: Philip Karanja Njenga (Winner)

The Best Movie in West Africa


Brotherhood: Jade Osiberu (Winner)

Best Actor in a Comedy

Samuel Perry (Broda Shaggi): Inside Life (Winner)

Best Actor in a Drama


Tobi Bakre, Brotherhood (Winner)

Best Actress in a Comedy

Bimbo Ademoye, Selina (Winner)

Best Actress in a Drama


Osas Ighodaro, Man of God (Winner)

Best Supporting Actress

Efe Irele, Four Four Forty Four (Winner)

Best Supporting Actor


Abdisattar Ahmed, Gacal (Winner)

Best Short Film

Adeoye Adetunji, Pa Aromire (Winner)

Best Online Social Content Creator


Elozonam, Kie Kie, “Back From The Future (Winner)

Best Original Comedy Series

Njoro Wa Uba (Winner)

Best Unscripted Original


King Bugar (Winner)

Best Original Comedy Series

Njoro Wa Uba (Winner)

Best Original Drama Series


Ricordi (Winner)

The Best Makeup Artist in a Movie or Series

Maryam Ndukwe, Hakeem Effects Onilogbo, and Shanty Town (Winners)

Best Television Series


Yinka Edward, Crime and Justice (Winner)

Best Documentary

Nora Awolowo, Nigeria: The Debut (Winner)

Best Director


Loukman Ali, Brotherhood (Winner)

Multichoice Talent Factory Film

Leaked (Winner)

Best Indigenous Language: Yoruba


Kunle Afolayan-Anikulapo (Winner)

Best Indigenous Language: Hausa

Abubakar Bashir Maishadda-Aisha (Winner)

Best Indigenous Language: Igbo


Victor Iyke-Uhuruchi (Winner)

Best Indigenous Language: Swahili

Philip Karanja Njenga: Click Click Bang” (Winner)

Best Overall Movie


Kunle Afolayan-Anikulapo (Winner)

The award night, which also had top performances from Tiwa Savage, Spyro, and Iyanya, had Beauty Takura and Enioluwa emerge as ‘Best Dressed’ at the occasion.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG