Connect with us

Headlines News

Hope Uzodinma, Timipre Sylva emerge APC governorship candidates in Imo, Bayelsa



Governor Hope Uzodimma of Imo state on Hajj

The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has declared Governor Hope Uzodinma and Timipre Sylva as the All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidates in Imo and Bayelsa states.

The electoral body has announced that the governorship election in both states will hold on November 11, 2023.

INEC also informed political parties that their primaries must be held on or before, April 17.

Uzodinma who is seeking a second term received 63,618 votes in Friday’s extraordinary congress in Owerri, Imo state capital where he was the sole candidate.

Nnaemeka Samuel Anyanwu, has emerged as the candidate for the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in Imo.


Fuel, The Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva announced reduction of petrol price covid-19 Port Harcourt Refinery PIB OML 46 Depot Energy Transition

Former Minister of State for Petroleum Resources, Timipre SylvaIn Bayelsa, Sylva who is the immediate past Minister of State for Petroleum, was declared the winner of the direct primary held across the state’s eight local government areas.

Sylva garnered 52061 votes to emerge the APC candidate. Great Joshua MacIver who polled 2078 votes placed second while David Lyon got 1582. Others are Prof. Ongoebi Etebo (1277), Mrs Ikisima Ogbomade (584) and Festus Daumiebi (557).

He will challenger the incumbent governor, Duoye Diri of the PDP.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG