Connect with us

Headlines News

Seyi Makinde wins Oyo gov. polls with 563, 756 votes



Makinde axe auxiliary, appoints Omolewa as new park chairman

Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo state secured a second term in office after he was declared winner of the March 18 governorship election.

The governor, a member of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) beat his closest rivals by over 200,000, according to results announced by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC on Sunday.

INEC noted that election was conducted in all 33 local government areas of Oyo state.

In the announcement by Oyo state returning officer, Professor Adebayo Bamire, he noted that the incumbent governor met all the requirements as stated by the Electoral Act and was therefore declared winner.

Bamire, the Vice Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University, announced that Makinde polled 563,756 votes while the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Senator Teslim Folarin garnered 256,685 votes.


The Accord candidate, Adebayo Adelabu scored a total of 38,357 votes.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG