Connect with us


Kebbi: INEC declares governorship election inconclusive



INEC blacklists 100 ad hoc staff over malpractice in A/Ibom

The governorship election in Kebbi was declared “inconclusive” by the Independent National Electoral Commission on Monday.

The two major political parties, the All Progressives Congress and the Peoples Democratic Party, fought the election fiercely.

Prof. Yusuf Sa’idu of Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto, the Collation and Returning Officer of the election, announced the position at the collation center located at INEC headquarters in Birnin Kebbi.

He stated that there were cancellations in 20 of Kebbi State’s 21 local government areas, spanning a number of Registration Areas in various polling units.


Sa’idu said: “We aggregated the total number of collected PVCs in those polling units and it came to a total of 91,829.

“And when we checked the results, the two leading political parties in this contest, APC and PDP polled 388,258 and 342,980 votes respectively. When we look at the difference, it stands at 45,278.”

He noted that they had no option but to refer to the electoral laws on page 31 of the Electoral Act 2022, section 51 sub-sections two and three for guidance.

According to him, the law read, “Where the number of votes cast in an election in any polling unit exceeds the number of accredited voters in that polling unit, the presiding officer shall cancel the result of the election in that polling unit.

“Sub-section three of section 51 also states that where the result of an election is cancelled in accordance with subsection two, there shall be no return for the election until another poll has taken place in the affected polling unit.


“By virtue of these provisions and the powers vested in me as the collation and returning officer of 2023 gubernatorial election in Kebbi State, I, Prof. Yusuf Sa’idu of the Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto, hereby declare the governorship election in Kebbi State inconclusive.”

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG