Connect with us

Headlines News

Obi is victorious in Anambra, Imo, Delta presidential poll



PEPT: 'Despair not an option', Peter Obi writes "Obidients"

Mr. Peter Obi, the presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP), has been declared the winner of the Saturday, February 25th election in Anambra, Imo, and Delta States.

Obi received 584,621 votes in Anambra, his home state, compared to 9,036 votes for People’s Democratic Party (PDP) candidate Atiku Abubakar.

Prof Nnenna Oti, the state’s returning officer and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO), declared the results at the INEC collation center in Awka.

The All Progressives Congress (APC) presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, received 5,111 votes, while the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) presidential candidate, Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, received 1,967 votes.



In Imo, the LP presidential candidate also emerged as the winner of the presidential election.

According to the returning officer, Charles Esimone, Vice Chancellor of Nnamdi Azikiwe University Akwa, Obi polled 352,904, while Tinubu polled 66, 171 votes taking the second position. Atiku Abubakar scored 30,044, while Kwankwaso of the NNPP garnered 1,536 votes.

Results declared in the state were collated in 26 out of the 27 local government areas. The returning officer said that the results of the Njaba LGA were not collated because of violence.



Obi won the presidential election in Delta by a wide margin. The Collation Officer, Professor Owunari Georgewill, said Obi polled 341,866 while his PDP’s Atiku polled 161,600. The APC took third position having scored 90,183 votes.

LP won in 18 local government areas including Isoko North, Isoko South, Warri South, Udu, Ughelli North, Uvwie, Okpe, Ndokwa West, Oshimili South, Sapele and Ndokwa East LGA’s.

Others are Ukwuani, Aniocha South, Ethiope East, Oshimili North, Ethiope West, Aniocha North, and Ika South LGA.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG