Connect with us

Headlines News

BREAKING: Senate confirms Lauretta Onochie as NDDC chairman



Lauretta Onochie denies she's homeless in the UK

The Senate on Tuesday confirmed Lauretta Onochie, special adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari on Social Media as the substantive chairman of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

Buhari had forwarded her nomination to the Senate, asking it to confirm her as the chairman. This was the President’s second attempt to appoint Lauretta Onochie after she failed to pass the hurdle as INEC commissioner.

At Tuesday’s plenary, the Senate a report of the Committee on Niger Delta
Confirmation on the nomination of Lauretta Onochie for appointment as chairman and that of members of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC) was presented by Senate Leader, Senator Amos Bulus.

Senator Amos Bulus moved that the Senate do receive and consider the report of the Committee on Niger Delta on the confirmation of the Nominations of the following persons for appointment as chairman and members of the Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC)


i. Lauretta Ifeanyi Onochie – Chairman – Delta State – South-South

ii. Dimgba Erugba – State Representative – Abia State – South-East

iii. Dr. Emem Wilcos Wills – State Representative – Akwa-Ibom State –South-South

iv. Elder Sen. Dimaro Denyanbofa – State Representative – Bayelsa State – South-South

v. Hon. Orok Duke – State Representative – Cross River State – South-South


vi. Dr. Pius Egberanwen Odudu – State Representative – Edo State – South-South

vii. Engr. Anthony Okanne – State Representative – Imo State – South-East

viii. Hon. Gbenga Edema – State Representative – Ondo State – South-West

ix. Elekwachi Dinkpa – State Representative – Rivers State – South-South


x. Alh. Mohammed Kabir Abubakar – Zonal Representative – Nasarawa State – North Central

xi. Alh. Sule-Iko Sadeeq Sani Sami – Zonal Representative – Kebbi State – North-West

xii. Prof. Tahir Mamman, SAN, OON – Zonal Representative – Adamawa State – North-East

xiii. Chief Dr. Samuel Ogbuku – Managing Director for a term of two years, to complete the unexpired term of his predecessor in office – Bayelsa State – South-South


xiv. Major General Charles Airhiavbere – Executive Director (Finance) – Edo State – South-South

xv. Charles B. Ogunmola – Executive Director (Projects) – Ondo State – South-West

All the nominees were seconded by Senator Akon Eyakenyi.

1 Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG