Connect with us


Osun governor-elect, Ademola Adeleke gets security team from IGP



PDP's Senator Ademola Adeleke has won the Osun governorship election

The deployment of a security team to Senator Ademola Adeleke, the incoming governor of the State of Osun, has been authorized by Inspector General of Police Usman Alkali.

This information was disclosed in a statement released by AIG Hafiz M. Inuwa, the Assistant Inspector General of Police, and made accessible to journalists on Monday.

The following officers were approved by the command for the position of governor-elect: CSP Omoyele Isaac Adekunle, Chief Security Officer; SP Adefisoye Kazeem, CAMP; DSP Yunusa Kehinde, OYS Escort Commandant; ASP Ahmed Bio Abulrahman; AID-DE – Commandant; SPU; and ASP Bolanle AbdulFatai, Admin Officer.

Adeleke ran for Osun state governorship election under the PDP against top contenders Alhaji Gboyega Oyetola of APC and Iyiola Omisore of SDP on 22 September 2018. The election was declared inconclusive by the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) and a rerun slated on 27 September 2018.

Buhari congratulates Adeleke on Osun victory


The candidate of the APC Oyetola was declared winner after the run-off. Adeleke protested the result describing the election as a “coup”.

On 22 March 2019 the tribunal sitting in Abuja declared Adeleke the winner of the election. The Supreme Court later affirmed Gboyega Oyetola as the authentic winner of the 2018 Osun State governorship election on Friday, 5 July 2019.

In 2022, Adeleke contested in the gubernatorial election of 16 July under the PDP against incumbent governor Gboyega Oyetola. Adeleke defeated Gboyega Oyetola with 402,979 votes to 375,077 votes. Adeleke won in 17 local government areas, including Olorunda, Ede South, Orolu, Osogbo, Odo Otin, Ifelodun, Boluwaduro, Atakumosa, and Ila.

Adeleke is a father of eight including B-Red, Ayootola, Goke, Sinarambo, Adenike and Folasade. He is also a uncle to popular musician, Davido.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG