Connect with us

Headlines News

BREAKING: Northern APC governors, leaders zone presidency to South



Northern governors and traditional rulers met in Kaduna NLTP

Political leaders and governors on the platform of the All Progressives Congress (APC) have agreed to zone the party’s 2023 presidency to the South.

In a statement signed by 11 northerner governors they said it was a question of honour to allow the South produce Nigeria’s next President.

“APC governors and political leaders from the northern states of Nigeria today met to review the political situation and to further support our Party in providing progressive leadership amidst our national challenges.

“During our discussions, we welcomed President Muhammadu Buhari’s invitation to governors and other stakeholders to contribute to the emergence of a strong presidential candidate for the APC.


:After careful deliberation, we wish to state our firm conviction that after eight years in office of President Muhammadu Buhari, the presidential candidate of the APC for the 2023 elections should be one of our teeming members from the southern states of Nigeria.

:It is a question of honour for the APC, an obligation that is not in anyway affected by the decisions taken by another political party.

“We affirm that upholding this principle is in the interest of building a stronger, more united and more progressive country.

“We therefore wish to strongly recommend to President Muhammadu Buhari that the search for a successor as the APC’s presidential candidate be limited to our compatriots from the southern states.

“We appeal to all aspirants from the northern states to withdraw in the national interest and allow only the aspirants from the south to proceed to the primaries.


“We are delighted by the decision of our esteemed colleague, His Excellency, Governor Abubakar Badaru to contribute to this patriotic quest by withdrawing his presidential aspiration.

“The APC has a duty to ensure that the 2023 elections offer a nation-building moment, reaffirming that a democratic pathway to power exists for all who value cooperation and build national platforms.

“This moment calls for the most sober and inclusive approach to selecting our party’s candidate, and we call on all APC leaders to fulfil their responsibility in this regard.

The statement was signed by Governor Aminu Bello Masari of Katsina State; Governor Abubakar Sani Bello of Niger State; Governor Abdullahi A. Sule of Nasarawa State; Governor Umara Zulum of Borno State; Governor Nasir Ahmad El-Rufai of Kaduna State and Governor Muhammad Inuwa Yahaya of Gombe State.


Others are Governor Bello Matawalle of Zamfara State; Governor Simon Bako Lalong of Plateau State; Senator Aliyu Wamakko, a former Governor of Sokoto State; Governor Abdullahi Ganduje of Kano State and Governor Abubakar Atiku Bagudu of Kebbi State.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG