Connect with us

Headlines News

Confusion as Adeleke, Babayemi emerge PDP guber candidates



Senator Ademola Adeleke had won at Osun Election Tribunal but has now been disqualified as PDP governorship candidate

Senator Ademola Adeleke emerged winner of the factional governorship primary election of Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, held at Osogbo City Stadium, Osun state.

In a parallel primary of the PDP, Prince Dotun Babayemi was declared winner. The primary election was held at WOCDIF Centre, in Osogbo, Osun state.

Declaring the result of the exercise held at the stadium, Bayelsa State Deputy Governor, who led the party’s National Congress Committee, Senator Lawrence Ewurujakpo, said Senator Ademola polled 1,887 votes to emerge the winner, while the closest governorship aspirant to him, Mr. Sanya Omirin garnered four votes.

He added that Dele Adeleke scored one vote, while Messrs Dotun Babayemi, Akin Ogunbiyi and Fatai Akinbade scored zero votes, and 24 votes were invalid.


PDP logo Gusau

Speaking after the election, Ewurujakpo said, “By the power conferred on me as the Chief Returning Officer of this gubernatorial primary, we hereby collectively declare Adeleke Ademola Jackson as the winner of the governorship primary election of PDP in Osun State.

“Any other primary held outside this place is invalid and will not be recognised. The crown is here, the palace is here and the authority is here. Any exercise not done here cannot be recognized.”

In his acceptance speech, Senator Adeleke urged other aspirants to join hands with him to rescue the state from the poor governance of the All Progressives Congress, APC.

Prince Dotun Babayemi also emerged as PDP governorship candidate in Osun state

Prince Dotun Babayemi also emerged as PDP governorship candidate in Osun state

Babayemi emerges in parallel PDP primary

Meanwhile, the Wale Ojo faction exercise was held at WOCDIF, which was attended by former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola, Erelu Olusola Obada and Alhaji Shuaib Oyedokun, produced Babayemi as its candidate.

Announcing the result at WOCDIF, the Chief Returning Officer, Mr Adelani Ajanaku said Dotun Babayemi polled 1,781 votes and Sanya Omirin scored 16 votes.

Some of the party chieftains at the stadium include Professor Wale Oladipo, Diran Odeyemi, Mr Wole Oke, Akogun Lere Oyewumi, former party chairman, Ganiyu Olaoluwa, Mr Bamidele Salam among others.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG