Connect with us


More countries ban South African flights over new variant



Netherlands and Belgium ban flghts from the UK South Africa

The new Covid variant detected in South Africa has led to countries restricting travel from the southern Africa region.

Cases of B.1.1.529 have been documented in South Africa, Hong Kong, Botswana and Israel.

So far the following countries have imposed curbs on travel from southern Africa:

The UK has placed restrictions on six countries including South Africa, Namibia, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini.

  • Singapore has placed seven countries on its red list despite saying it has having no cases of the new variant
  • Japan has implemented restrictions from six countries, according to a local news source
  • Israel has barred South African travellers and banned its citizens from visiting seven countries in the southern African region
  • Germany is banning travel from South Africa allowing only German nationals to enter the country
  • Italy has barred entry to anyone who has visited southern African countries in the last two weeks
  • The Czech Republic has also put in place a ban which takes effect on Saturday
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG