Connect with us


Ikpeazu swears-in Karibe Ojigwe, 26 others as commissioners



Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State swearing in Karibe Ojigwe and 26 others as commissioners

Governor Okezie Ikpeazu on Wednesday swore in former Super Eagles players, Karibe Ojigwe, as Abia State Commissioner for Sports.

Ojigwe who played as defender and defensive midfielder began his professional career at Enyimba in 1993. After two years at the club he joined German club, FC Kaiserslautern.

He went on to play for FC Koln, Bayer Leverkusen, Borussia Mönchengladbach, 1860 Munich before returning to Enyimba in 2006.

Ojigwe was sworn in alongside 26 other to the Abia State Executive Council at the Michael Okpara Auditorium Umuahia.


Speaking shortly after the swearing in ceremony, Governor Ikpeazu said the new commissioners were carefully selected to support to drive his administration’s vision for a better life for ndi-Abia.

The governor who disclosed that his administration is on its final lap, desired to complete ongoing projects and possibly embark new ones.

He charged the new appointees to be active players in the socio-political and economic renaissance of the state.

While warning that there is nothing juicy in the appointments, the governor cautioned those whose agenda is to line their pockets that they will be disappointed and challenged them to see their appointments as calls to duty.


He assured that government will substantially provide them with the resources to work with, but also admonished them to leverage their connections and wealth of experience in moving their various ministries forward.

Governor Ikpeazu advised them to remain loyal to the Government as those found wanting will be shown the way out.

He also implored them to keep in touch with their localities as Government will be relying on them to galvanize support from the grassroot.

Responding on behalf of his colleagues, the new Commissioner for Information and Strategy, Barrister Eze Chikamnayo thanked the Governor for the privilege to be part of the State Executive Council and assured that they will not let the Government and Abians down.


The new Commissioners and their portfolios are:
Mazi Donatus Okorie – Ministry of Cooperatives and Rural development

Mr Ndom Godwin – Boundary Matters

Chief Okezie Erondu – Ministry of Science and Technology

Professor Ikechi Mgbeoji – Ministry of Agriculture


Pascal Karibe Ojigwe – Ministry of Sports

Mrs Uwaoma Olewengwa – Ministry of Industry, Promotions and Development

Prince Christopher Enweremadu – Ministry of Local Government and Chieftaincy Affairs

Barr.Charles Esonu – Ministry of Youth Development


Chief Chinagorom Nwankpa – Ministry of Housing

Hon. Monday Ejiegbu – Parastatals

Deaconess Rose Urenta – Ministry of Women Affairs

Chief Kingsley Imaga – Ministry of Public Utilities


Chidiebere Uwagwu Kalu – Establishment and Training

Barr. Chijioke Mark – Post-Basic Education

Chief Chisom Nwachukwu – Ministry of Special duties/Vulnerable groups

Mr. Sopuruchi Bekee – Ministry of Homeland Security


Chief Eze Nwanganga – Ministry of Petroleum and Energy Development

Barr Tony Nwanmuo – Ministry of Culture and Tourism

Barr. Sam Nwogu – Ministry of Environment

Others are Dr Chidi Onwuchuruba – Ministry of Lands and Survey


Mr Ugochukwu Emezue – Documentation and Strategic Communications

Mrs Adaku Uwaoma Onusiriuka Oseiza – Ministry of Small and Medium Enterprises and New Businesses Development

Barr, Eze Chikamnayo – Ministry of Information and Strategy

Chief Godswill Uche Nwanoruo – Ministry of Transport


Prince Obinna Okey – Inter -Governmental Affairs

Chief Ukwu Rocks Emma – Ministry of Basic Education

Barr Chinenye Emelogu – Joint Projects Implementations while the immediate past Commissioner for Information, Chief John Okiyi Kalu is to serve as the new Commissioner for Trade and Commerce.

At the ceremony were Abia state deputy governor, Sir Ude Oko Chukwu; the Member representing Ukwa West State constituency, Hon. Godwin Adiele; the State Chairman of the PDP, Rt Hon Asiforo Okere; the Secretary to Government, Barrister Chris Ezem; and Head of Service, Sir Onyii Wamah.


Others are the Chief of Staff to the Governor, Prof-acb Agbazuere; the Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Deputy Governor, Sir Don Ubani among other distinguished Abians witnessed the ceremony while the oath of office was administered by the Solicitor General and Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Justice, Mrs Uzoamaka Uche Ikonne.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Copyright © 2016 - 2022 ChronicleNG