Senate passes bills establishing three universities

Senate President Ahmad Lawan has passed sexual harassment criminal code Ibrahim El-Ladan appointed Clerk Service Chiefs Nigerian Army University bill nddc pib fha girl child chukwu #endsars nerc Consumer Protection Electoral Act aviation Finance Bill 2020 NDDC PIB Drug Barons Customs Anti-Corruption 1999 Constitution HND BSC firearms maritime MTEF Cargo MDAs
Senate President Ahmad Lawan

The Senate on Tuesday passed bills establishing three universities.

They are: Federal University of Science and Technology Lau, Taraba State; Federal University of Agriculture and Technology, Aboh, Delta State; and City University of Technology Auchi, Edo State.

The passage of the bills followed the consideration of three separate reports by the Committee on Tertiary Institutions and TETFUND.

Senator Sandy Onuh, in his presentations on behalf of the Chairman of the Committee, Ahmad Babba Kaita, said the Federal Univeristy of Agriculture and Technology, Aboh, in Delta State, would offer graduates knowledge in research to improve on Agricultural extension and general Agricultural practices.

Deal of the day

In another presentation on the report of the Conference Committee on the establishment of City University of Technology, Auchi, Onuh said the Senate and House of Representatives met and deliberated on the two versions of the bill.

According to him, it was resolved that the harmonised version be adopted by each of the two chambers of the National Assembly for approval.