Full list of 20 private universities approved by FEC

President Muhammadu Buhari presides over FEC enugu-port harcourt expressway
President Muhammadu Buhari presides over FEC

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved the establishment of additional 20 private universities across the country.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, revealed this while briefing the State House correspondents on the outcome of the Council meeting, presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari in Abuja on Wednesday.

According to Adamu, the approved universities will get their provisional licences from the National Universities Commission (NUC), which they will use for the next three years while monitoring and evaluation will go on.

Approved private universities

Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom
Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara
Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo
Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State
Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State
Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo
Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River
Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo
NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State
Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau
James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos State
Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State
Capital City University, Kano, Kano State
Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, Kwara
University of Offa, Offa, Kwara
Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State
Edusoko University, Bida, Niger
Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja
Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa
Anan University, Kwall, Plateau

Nine of the private universities are located in North Central, three in South South, two in South East, five in the North West and one in South West.

With the approval of additional 20 universities, Nigeria now has 99 private universities.