Presidential Panel recommends dismissal of 37 SARS operatives

NHRC Executive Secretary, Tony Ojukwu sars
NHRC Executive Secretary, Tony Ojukwu

The Presidential Panel on Reform of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad (SARS) has recommended that the Inspector General of Police (IGP) dismisses 37 police officers.

They were found wanting following an investigation into allegations of human rights violations and abuse of office against SARS.

This was disclosed on Friday at a meeting between the Police Service Commission (PSC) and the National Human Rights Commission (NHRC).

Executive Secretary, Tony Ojukwu led the NHRC team to formally present the 2018 Report of the Presidential Panel and to solicit the PSC support in the implementation of the aspects of the Report covered by PSC constitutional mandate.

Deal of the day

“We have come to see a PSC determined to play a leading role in the reform of the Nigeria Police Force”, he said.

Ojukwu said that now that the report is submitted to the PSC, the hope of Nigerians will be raised towards having a more professional and patriotic police force that will truly exemplify the maxim, “Police is your friend”, which some Nigerians have described as a mirage.

He said although there are several challenges that hinder government agencies from delivering on their statutory mandates, “we need to be innovative and sometimes add some measure of creativity to do our work despite our challenges,” he said.

The names and service numbers of the dismissed officers are, Abdulhameed Awodi, AP No 119444; Erhabo Uwagbie, AP No 86180; Idolor Godsent, AP No 158580; Mustpha Abubakar, AP No 119167; Idoko, AP No 85036; Ilya Aliyu, AP 94982; Asabe Luke, AP No 130296 and Angela Akaro, AP No 50829.

Others are Iyanda Olufemi AP No 122857; Gajere Taluwai AP No 50569; Ehis Oba AP No 129595; Edem Michael AP No 1256967; Agha AMA AP No 119535; Yusuf Lateef AP No 36725; Eliaz Casmir AP No 57688; Oluwafunmilola AP No 122864 and Mkay Ali AP No 111702.

Also recommended to be dismissed are Ado Doko AP No 46664; Sani Muhammad AP No 50679; Adamu Shaba AP No 140320; Adamu Bunu AP No 42565; Giade Sabo AP No 50579; Dattijo Abdullahi AP No 87072; Yahaya Shem AP No 86216; Tijani Richard AP No 46670 and Nwamanna Nelson AP No 46675.