Ondo: Akeredolu on course for re-election

Governor Rotimi Akeredolu is on course for re-election in the Ondo governorship poll
Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo has been re-elected for a second term in office

A second term in office seemed assured for Governor Rotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State with early results of Saturday’s election in Ondo North and South going heavily in his favour.

He was also running neck and neck in Ondo Central with his main challenger, Dr. Eyitayo Jegede of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) at press time.

Jegede is from the Central Senatorial District.

Deputy Governor Agboola Ajayi of the Zenith Labour Party (ZLP), who was tipped to give Akeredolu and Jegede a run for their money, appeared lost from the results so far released.

His performance in his South Senatorial District fell short of the expectations of bookmakers.

Each of the candidates won his polling unit easily.

Akeredolu got 413 votes at his polling unit 6, ward 5, Isokun, Ijebu-Owo.

He was trailed by Jegede with five votes. Ajayi got no vote at all.

Jegede secured 220 votes in his Igbigin/Isikan ward unit 9 polling centre in Akure while Akeredolu got 60 and Ajayi 7.

Ajayi got the backing of 395 voters in his Apoi ward 11, unit 4 at Idumado, Kiribo in the Ese Odo Local Government Area. Akeredolu came a distant second there with 13 votes and Jegede 5 votes.

Akeredolu was the preferred candidate in Akoko North East, Akoko North West, Akoko South East, Akoko South West, Ilaje, Odigbo, Owo, Ile Oluji, Irele, Idanre and Ondo West local government areas.

He won by a landslide in Akoko South East with over 9,000 votes, leaving Jegede with 3,881 votes and Ajayi 1,960 votes.

It was also a landslide victory for Akeredolu in Akoko North East where he polled 16,572 votes against 8,380 for Jegede and 3,532 for Ajayi.

Akeredolu builds lead in other LGAs:

Ile Oluji

APC: 13,287

PDP: 9231

ZLP: 1971

Akoko south-west

APC: 21,232

PDP: 15,055

ZLP: 2755


APC: 12,643

PDP: 5493

ZLP: 5904


APC: 15,122

PDP: 8421

ZLP: 1083


APC: 9350

PDP: 11852

ZLP: 1863

Results from 2704 polling units had been released at press time.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) said it had uploaded 90 per cent of the results on its portal last night.

It is expected that the remainder of the results will be made public later today and the winner formally declared.

The PDP camp was all quiet last night as the results trickled in while All Progressives Congress (APC) supporters went into jubilation.

Akeredolu was seen in a video dancing.