Buhari constitutes National Commission for Persons with Disabilities

President Muhammadu Buhari urged to probe N16 trillion spent on power by previous administrations nddc persons with disabilities p&id restructuring traditional rulers african energy chamber's
President Muhammadu Buhari of Nigeria

President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the composition of the Governing Council and appointment of Executive Secretary of the National Commission for Persons with Disabilities in line with the Discrimination Against Persons with Disabilities (Prohibition) Act 2019.

According to the Act, the Commission shall be headed by a part-time chairman and six members who shall be Persons with Disabilities representing the geo-political zones of the federation subject to confirmation of the Senate for a four-year term of office in the first instance, and may be reappointed for a second term of four years and no more.

The Executive Secretary, who shall be responsible to the Council for the implementation of the policies and administration of the daily affairs of the Commission, shall also be a Person with Disability with a five-year tenure in the first instance, and may be reappointed for a second term and no more.

Below are the names, designations and geo-political zones of members of the Management of the Commission with Hon. Dr Hussaini Suleiman Kangiwa as chairman (North West).

Deal of the day

Oparaku Onyejelam Jaja was appointed member representing South East while Philomena Isioma Konwea will represent the South South.

Omopariola Busuyi Oluwasola is the member representing the South West and Amina Rahma Audu is member from the North West.

Mrs Esther Andrew Awu will represent the North Central and Abba Audu Ibrahim representing North East.

James David Lalu (North Central) will serve as the executive secretary of the Commission.