Ex-governors, companies lose 214 properties to EFCC

Acting EFCC chairman Ibrahim Magu
Acting EFCC chairman Ibrahim Magu
Acting EFCC chairman Ibrahim Magu
Acting EFCC chairman Ibrahim Magu

No fewer than 214 landed properties in different parts of the country have been forfeited by 70 individuals and seven firms involved in financial crimes.

The properties recovered by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) between 2015 and 2018 are located in Abuja, Lagos, Kaduna, Katsina, Jigawa, Kogi, Adamawa, Oyo states.

About 179 of the properties were recovered through interim forfeiture through court orders, 35 have been finally forfeited to the commission and two were returned voluntarily.

Former Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose; ex-Bauchi State Governor, Isa Yuguda; Col. Bello Fadile (retd.); and a former Katsina State Governor, Ibrahim Shema are among those who lost their properties.

Some other Nigerians who lost their properties through court forfeiture orders include a former petroleum minister, Diezani Alison-Madueke; and ex-National Security Adviser, Dasuki Sambo.

READ: Gunmen abduct Suzy Nathan in Taraba

Others are former minister, Iyorchia Ayu; the late Chief of Defence Staff, Alex Badeh and a former Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Adesola Amosu (retd.)

According to reports, the list also included George Turner whose 17 properties in different parts of Bayelsa State were placed under interim forfeiture; former Niger State Governor, Babangida Aliyu and Garba Birni-Kudu who had 14 properties under interim forfeiture.

Please follow and like us:
Tweet 20