FCT: APC wins Kwali, PDP wins Bwari

apc pdp logo apc logo pdp logo
APC and PDP are the two leading political parties in Nigeria
Ekiti lawmaker Olarewaju Olayanju says PDP is a dead end

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the chairmanship candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Danladi Chiya, winner of the supplementary poll for Kwali Area Council, FCT.

Prof. Simon Kawe, the INEC Returning Officer who announced the result, said Chiya scored the highest votes of 14,245, to defeat his closest rival, Mr Ibrahim Daniel of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who scored 14,189.

The supplementary election in Sheda polling unit 005 was however disrupted by some thugs which was  regarded as zero votes for all political parties as read by the INEC officer.

NAN reports that there was jubilation in most parts of Kwali metropolis
over the APC victory.

READ: Osun Tribunal saved Nigeria from embarrassment – Obasanjo

In Bwari, Mr Shekwogaza Gabaya of the PDP was declared winner of Bwari Area Council Chairmanship Election.

Prof. Mohammed Umaru, the Returning/Collation Officer for the council’s supplementary elections announced that Gabaya of PDP polled a total of 31,114 votes, and therefore declared him winner.

He said,” Shekwogaza Gabaya of PDP, having certified the requirements of the law and scored the highest number of votes, is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected.”

He also said that the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) Mr Musa Dikko, scored a total of 24,137 votes, while Mr Haruna Mohammed of the People’s Trust (PT) party scored 1, 458 to come third place.

The supplementary elections were conducted in four wards of the council, namely Igu, Kubwa, Duste and Kawu Wards.