Fijabi, Edo Boy, others return for GOtv Boxing Season 10

FILE: Fijabi, Edo Boy, Joe Boy, Skoro headline GOtv Boxing Night 10
 Fijabi, Edo Boy, Joe Boy, Skoro headline GOtv Boxing Night 10

Fijabi, Edo Boy, Joe Boy, Skoro headline GOtv Boxing Night 10

The quartet of Olaide “Fijaborn” Fijabi, Stanley “Edo Boy” Eribo, Oto “Joe Boy” Joseph and Waidi “Skoro” Usman will be the leading names at the tenth edition of GOtv Boxing Night 10 scheduled to hold on 26 December at the Indoor Sports Hall of the National Stadium, Lagos.

This was announced on Tuesday at a press conference addressed by the organisers in Lagos.

GOtv Boxing Night 10, explained the organisers, is a milestone edition, being the tenth of the event.

For occasion, seven bouts, including the African Boxing Union (ABU) welterweight title bout and the West African Boxing Union light welterweight title duel, have been scheduled.

Deal of the day

The ABU title will see Nigeria’s Stanley “Edo Boy” Eribo, national champion, take on Meshack “Smart Boy” Mwankemwa, Tanzanian national champion, for the vacant title.

The sub-regional title bout pairs Fijabi and Ghana’s Raphael “Iron King” Kwabena in a greatly anticipated rematch.

Both boxers clashed at GOtv Boxing Night 9, a close-fought challenge contest that the Nigerian won via a split decision.

Similarly scheduled is the rematch between eternal rivals, Oto “Joe Boy” Joseph, reigning national lightweight champion, and his predecessor, Nurudeen “Prince” Fatai.

The line-up also includes Waidi “Skoro” Usman, West African featherweight champion, fighting Dare “Fighting Machine” Oyewole in a challenge bout, while Kabiru “KB Godson” Towolawi takes on Felix “Man Mopol” Igwe in a light heavyweight challenge duel.

Two other potentially cracking fights will have Rilwan “Real One” Oladosu clash with Prince “Lion” Nwoye in the lightweight division, while Rilwan “Baby Face” Oladosu will test his credentials as a budding light welterweight star against Sikiru “Omo Iya Eleja” Shogbesan.

The best boxer at the event will go home with a cash prize of N1.5million and the Mojisola Ogunsanya Memorial Trophy.